Easy-Peasy Lemon Chicken Piccata

I love finding new chicken dishes to try, especially when they are easy to make and turn out delicious. I probably cook with chicken 4 out of 7 nights, so its always great to have something different on the menu.

For Christmas I got a couple of subscriptions to cooking magazines from my in-laws and my husband actually circled this one in the Food and Family magazine as one he would be interested in trying and it was a hit!

What you need:

  • 3  lemons
  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts (I used 2 breasts and cut each one into a thin piece, giving me 4 then slices of breast)
  • 1/4 cup  Kraft Mayo with Olive Oil
  • 22 RITZ Crackers, finely crushed
  • 2 Tbsp.  EVOO
  • 1/2 cup  low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 Tbsp.  butter

Then:

  • Cut half of 1 lemon into 4 thin slices; squeeze juice from remaining 2-1/2 lemons.
  • Coat both sides of chicken pieces with mayo, then cracker crumbs.
  •  Heat oil in large skillet on medium-high heat. Add chicken; cook 2-3 min. on each side, just to brown and crisp up the ritz cracker crust.
  • Transfer to baking dish.
  • Add lemon juice and broth to skillet; cook on medium-high heat 6 to 8 min., stirring occasionally.
  • Next add butter and lemon slices, cook and stir on low heat 3 to 4 min.
  • Pour lemon mixture over the chicken in the baking dish.
  • Bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes, or until done (I broiled for last 3 minutes, just to really get a good crust).

I served over whole wheat linguine tossed with sautéed spinach and some olive oil.

The important stuff (per serving):

Makes 4 servings

Calories – 371
Fat – 22.9 g
Carbs – 15 g
Sodium – 530 mg
Protein – 29 g

IMG_0675[7]

Leave a comment