Skinny Sloppy Joe

I have never been a big fan of sloppy joes, maybe because the term makes me think of a bad school cafeteria meal from a movie, or maybe because it makes me think of beef (which I don’t eat), needless to say this recipe doesn’t involve any of the before mentioned.

These sloppy joes are one of my favorite go-to meals. Adam introduced them to me, and at first I thought the combination of ground pork and cream of mushroom soup sounded rather strange, but boy was I wrong! These guys are less than 300 calories each (for mixture and bun), and you just HAVE to try them!

What you need:

  • 1 lb groud pork
  • 1 can Cream of Mushroom Soup
  • garlic powder
  • Kroger Lite Buns 
  • pepperjack cheese

Then:

  • cook pork on stove top with garlic powder (sorry I don’t have an amount, just shake some in there!)
  • drain fat from pork and stir in soup
  • warm the buns if desired
  • spoon pork mixture onto bun and top with cheese (optional, but I HIGHLY recommend adding the cheese to it, specifically pepperjack.)

The important stuff (per serving):

Makes about 6 servings/sloppy joe sandwiches.

  • Calories: 299           379 with cheese!
  • Fat: 16.06 g
  • Carbs: 23.34 g
  • Sodium: 713.78 mg
  • Protein: 17.86 g

 

Leave a comment